Texas BBQ Crawl, day four. San Antonio


I had heard some high recommendations for a San Antonio BBQ restaurant named Two Bros. It looked very inviting with indoor seating as well as outdoor picnic tables in a shaded courtyard. There was a playground for the kids, and another for the adults with a bocce ball court.


The ordering here had the options of plates, sandwiches or meat by the pound.
We ordered brisket, pork ribs and sausage. As I understand, they are known for the cherry glazed baby back ribs, so that was a must.

I enjoyed talking to one of the pit guys while he was prepping and loading 20 briskets for next day. When I do a brisket on my Big Green Egg, it’s a big deal for me. So it is interesting to watch someone doing them on a large scale. Instead of using a shaker to apply rub to the brisket, he was taking each one and putting it in a bus tub half full of rub. That’s scale!

After a short wait, our order was called and we picked it up on butcher paper and we took more butcher paper for plates and headed to the picnic tables out in the courtyard. I started referring to squares of pink butcher paper as Texas paper plates.

The platter of BBQ looks great, probably one of my better food pics of the trip. Unfortunately, looks were deceiving.


For being one of their specialties, the cherry glazed baby back ribs, were disappointing. The glaze tasted great, but the ribs were dry and somewhat tough. The sausage was good, but it tasted to me pretty much like the same smoked sausage I could get at a grocery store. And we all thought the brisket was unremarkable as well.

So while it looked like it was going to be great, it was a disappointing visit. Especially after I had heard glowing recommendations for this restaurant from a well known BBQ expert.

While the BBQ part of the day’s trip wasn’t the best of the week, we greatly enjoyed out day in San Antonio. We visited the Tower of the Americas, and the San Antonio River Walk, the San Antonio Missions, and of course, the Alamo.


We had a great Mexican dinner at Caso Rio on the River Walk.


So while the BBQ was a disappointment, this was a highlight day of the whole trip.

Leave a comment