Big Green Egg boot camp

I helped out with another great class at Big Green Egg Culinary Center @bgeculinary recently. This one was an all day Egg boot camp. Unlike past boot camps, this was not focused on traditional BBQ, but on a wide variety of recipes to allow the attendees to hone their skills across the spectrum of egging techniques.

It was a long enough class to have the volunteers separated into two shifts, and I was on the afternoon shift.

Early on there was pizza and double smoked Ham with Unicoi preserves. The enthusiastic class also learned how to smoke cheese on the egg. That is something I’ve learned there at earlier classes and I enjoyed giving out a couple pounds of smoked Gouda for Christmas presents last year.

In the afternoon session the class broke into groups for guided hands on experience making entrees. One group made Jambalaya in the biggest paella pan I’ve ever seen, yes one big enough for the double XL egg!

Honestly I’ve never been a big fan of jambalaya, but this changed my mind!

Another group worked with salt blocks to make shrimp quesadillas which were served with guacamole made during the class.

The final group learned the techniques of plank cooking making Cedar planked salmon and pears.

The team behind Unicoi Preserves demonstrated their award winning Apple Cider pepper jelly pie which was probably the best Apple pie I’ve ever eaten.

And of course we had to have one low and slow dish with monster beef short ribs.

It was a full class and I think everyone left full, happy and a better Egger.

Leave a comment